SR-22 Form in Texas
If you were arrested for DWI, it is important to know the consequences that can occur if you do not avoid a conviction. After a DWI conviction, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 30 days. To reinstate your Texas driver’s license, you must pay a reinstatement fee to the Texas Department of Public Safety and submit a SR-22 form.
What is the SR-22 Form in Texas?
In Texas, the Financial Responsibility Form is called the SR-22 form. It is an endorsement to an automobile insurance policy intended to prove that the policy has the minimum required insurance certain types of criminal convictions.
You will be required to obtain a SR-22 Form for the following reasons:
- a conviction for driving while under the influence of alcohol (DWI);
- a conviction for driving while under the influence of drugs (DWID);
- driving on a suspended driver's license;
- having multiple tickets for no insurance;
- failing to pay a judgment for a liability claim; or
- having excessive traffic violations.
The Minimum Liability Amounts for Vehicle Insurance in Texas
In Texas, the minimum insurance liability coverages include:
- $30,000 Limits for Bodily Injuries per person
- $60,000 Limits for all bodily injuries to all persons in the vehicle.
After a DWI arrest, it is important to understand the hidden costs that result from a conviction. The expense associated with maintaining the SR-22 form is one consequence of a DWI conviction.
Call the Fort Worth criminal defense attorneys at Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy to learn more about how we right the chemical test results from a legal or medical blood test or a breath test on the Intoxilyzer 5000. We also fight the officer's conclusions from the field sobriety exercises to show that our client's normal faculities were not impaired.
This article was last updated on Monday, April 3, 2017.
Principal Location: 1511 Dallas Pkwy #400 Dallas, TX 75248